Vintage Tool Rehab Projects #31-Adding a Stanley #45 to the Till


I’ve always been fascinated by the Stanley #45 contraption—with all its knobs and screws and accessories. It was tailor-made for folks who love gear and accoutrements. And to justify its purchase, I reasoned that I would put it in my Dutch tool chest for when I travel. It was after all, billed as “45 Planes in One.”

An eBay foray delivered a Sweetheart model to my door for $158.35 shipped.

A bit rusty…
The initial inspection revealed a tinsy amount of rust…

P01-Stanley-No-45-Main Stock-As Found P02-Stanley-No-45-Sliding Section-As Found P03-Stanley-No-45-Fence-As Found P04-Stanley-No-45-Accessories-As Found P06-Stanley-No-45-Closeup of rusted Long Arms-As Found

Add to that some missing parts. I’m just OCD enough to have to replace them. An exercise that set me back an additional $57.68.

P18-Stanley-No-45-Missing Parts and Costs

All cleaned up
A little wire brush here, a little sandpaper there and the surfaces were free of rust.

P11-Stanley-No-45-Main Stock right-AFTER rehab P12-Stanley-No-45-Main Stock left-AFTER rehab P13-Stanley-No-45-Long Arms-AFTER rehab P14-Stanley-No-45-Main Stock-Closeup Sweetheart Logo-AFTER rehab P15-Stanley-No-45-Sliding Section-AFTER rehab P17-Stanley-No-45-Fence-AFTER rehab

Taking the 45 for a test spin
After sharpening the 3/16” plow and dado cutter I tried my hand at making a groove.

P16-Stanley-No-45-Cutting a 3-16th Groove P17-Stanley-No-45-Cutting a 3-16th Groove-in Oak

Oh my. That was much more fun than I anticipated!

And now that my SW #45 is open for business, it’s time to put it…uh…let’s see. That drawer is full. So is that one. I have this plane body, fence, sliding section, two boxes of cutters and a whole bunch of accessories…and no place to put them.

–Sigh–

Time to build a box.

© 2015, Brad Chittim, all rights reserved.

###

About The Write Biz

By day, I'm a mild-mannered copywriter who harnesses frontal-lobe creativity (right brain) to help B2B marketers generate leads and sales. By night I pick up hand tools to create wooden masterpieces...and give my black lab Bella the "red dot" laser to chase after.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Vintage Tool Rehab Projects #31-Adding a Stanley #45 to the Till

  1. paul6000000 says:

    That turned out nice. I’ve got the Record version and it sees a lot of use. Plow plane mostly but It can do half decent rebates too. I find it safer than a scratch stock for small beads. The spurs are pretty nasty though, better off striking a knife line as you go. Roy has an episode on the 45 where he shows how to use the beading stop…I would never have figured it out myself.

  2. Brad, where did you get the missing parts from?

  3. Sanscoeur says:

    Allow me confirm how safe and easy it is to deal with nhplaneparts. He has helped me recover the few missing pieces it took to restore Granddad’s old SW 45 to its original glory.

Leave a Reply

