Record 043 Grooving plane for my Dutch tool chest


My Dutch tool chest was made for traveling. And when I’m on the road, I won’t have access to a router table. So to make grooves, I needed a plow plane. Yes, I could take my Veritas small plow plane. But that would violate my rule to only take tools that I could accept—though grudgingly—being lost or stolen.

So I researched vintage (i.e. affordable) plow planes and settled on the Record 043 to serve my box grooving needs. Record is an English company, so it’s not surprising that I found my eBay specimen in Norwich, UK. The price was decent but shipping boosted the final cost to around $80.00. And while the £15.00 shipping fee hurt, the sentimental value of having a tool that comes from my ancestral land takes a spot of the sting away.

Here’s what showed up on my front porch.

P01-Record-043-As-Received

After a good sharpening of the 1/8”, 3/16” and ¼” irons, the plane cut decent grooves. Even so, I decided to optimize its performance with a good tuning.

Tuning the Record 043
I read a nice article here that guided me through the tuning process, (see “Will it work out of the box?”).

Lap the skate
The bottom of the skate was slightly out of true, plus showed machine marks from its manufacture. To correct these issues I lapped it through 2000 grit sand paper.

P02-Record-043-Lapped-Skate

I also checked the edges to remove any burrs or hindering nicks. Now the polished cast iron sails across the wood.

Add a fence
In my opinion, the stock fence is simply too small to deliver, spot-on and consistent grooves. So I crafted a fence out of walnut (½” T x 1 ¼” W x 4 ½ L.) I cut and chiseled a shaving escapement as detailed in the Record 043 owner’s manual.

P13-Record-043-fence-escapement

Then rounded the bottom two corners and chamfered the outside edges.

P14-Record-043-fence-chamfered-edges

I finished the fence with Danish oil followed by a liberal waxing of the inside face to minimize friction.

P03-Record-043-Added-Fence P04-Record-043-Added-Fence-2 P05-Record-043-Added-Fence-3

Make shorter fence rods
The stock fence rods are 5 ½” long. What that means is that they extend several inches beyond one side or the other. And that interferes with my grip.

P06-Record-043-Left-Hand-Hold P07-Record-043-Right-Hand-Hold

To rectify that, I made 3” rods from some 7mm silver steel that I ordered from Chronos Engineering Supplies.

The shorter length won’t be a problem since I’ll be using this plane for box bottom grooves. And it clears the way to a better grip.

P11-Record-043-short-rod-left-hand-grip P12-Record-043-short-rod-right-hand-grip

Sharpen irons
I sharpened the irons with a 30 degree bevel. The manual calls for 35 degrees. The 30 degrees has worked fine so far. But choose for yourself.

Testing the Record 043
With the tuning and fence done, I set up the plane to make a 1/8” test groove.

P08-Record-043-In-Use

That resulted in a pretty clean groove.

P09-Record-043-one-eighth-inch-groove

Which fit some 1/8” plywood very nicely.

P10-Record-043-nice-groove-fit

Comfortable to use, perfect for grooving role
The 043 is surprisingly comfortable to use. And it performs the box/drawer grooving role quite well. So now my Dutch tool chest has that base covered.

Though after using it for a while, I must confess that I would be mightily disappointed if this plane was lost or stolen 🙂

© 2014, Brad Chittim, all rights reserved.

About The Write Biz

By day, I'm a mild-mannered copywriter who harnesses frontal-lobe creativity (right brain) to help B2B marketers generate leads and sales. By night I pick up hand tools to create wooden masterpieces...and give my black lab Bella the "red dot" laser to chase after.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Record 043 Grooving plane for my Dutch tool chest

  1. The link to Hand Made in Wood is dead. Howard deleted the blog at wordpress.
    The Cornish Workshop has a good write up on how to use the 043 and other plow planes.

  2. Jonas Jensen says:

    I use a Stanley No 248 grooving plane for the same purposes. I have even made tongue and groove boards using mine.
    Like you I have decided that I will only add tools that I could bear to loose if my bag is stolen or otherwise lost by an airline, but the more I have used those tools, the harder it would be to loose them.
    Brgds
    Jonas

    • Jonas, I looked for a Stanley 248 on Ebay, but they weren’t as plentiful at the Records and they frequently were missing their irons.

      • Jonas Jensen says:

        That might explain why I have only got one iron. I think it is a 3/32″
        I have considered making a new iron for it, but have yet to actually start doing it.
        Brian Eve over at toolerable.blogspot.com gave it to me when we met a couple of years ago in Bavaria. So I never had to do any tool hunting for it.
        I have later acquired some wooden plough planes, but they take up quite a bit more space for a travelling tool chest.
        B y the way, I really like the look of the No 43. Kind of futuristic design as I see it.

  3. Jonas, yes, the wooden plough planes take up more space. But they weigh less. Always a consideration with a traveling tool chest. It’s dawning on me that maybe a Stanley #45 is the way to go. It would be more versatile than a standard plough plane. It could do rabbets, grooves, dados and even beads. So one tool for all that could cut down on weight.

Leave a Reply

