New Life for a Harvey Peace No 45 Panel Saw


I found this Harvey Peace saw buried under a bunch of rusty ones at an estate sale.

P01-Harvey-Peace-No-45-Handsaw-FarmFresh

The nib and handle lambs tongue set it apart from the others. So even though it was covered in rust…

P04-Harvey-Peace-No-45-Panoramic-View-Left-Side P05-Harvey-Peace-No-45-Panoramic-View-Right-Side

…and caked with what appeared to be glue…

P07-Harvey-Peace-No-45-Glue-Gunk-OnSawplate

…it came home with me.

I’ve never owned or used a Harvey Peace sample before. This 8ppi specimen measures 22 inches long. Good. I can always use another panel saw.

I took a minimalist approach to my rehab, choosing to sand off decades of glue and rust while giving the handle and brass hardware a gentle cleaning.

P09-Harvey-Peace-No-45-Before-After-A P10-Harvey-Peace-No-45-Before-After-B

The handle fits snugly in my small hands with little to no hang from what I can tell.

P12-Harvey-Peace-No-45-Fits-Hand-Perfectly

The tooth line, however, was a mess and included one broken point.

P08-Harvey-Peace-No-45-Needs-Sharpening

A good sharpening would fix all that. But how to use my latest acquisition? Glancing at my saw till, I spied a gap. You see, my courser rip saws leave some nasty tear out. And there have been times—a lot of times—where I would have preferred to have had neat edges. So I decided to convert this 8ppi saw from crosscut to rip.

My first impression of the Peace steel was very positive. It took well to two jointings and a sharpening.

P11-Harvey-Peace-No-45-After-Detail-Pictures

That went a long way towards filing out the broken tooth.

So how does it cut?
This saw is sa-weet! It rips relatively quickly through birdseye maple.

P13-Harvey-Peace-No-45-In-Use

And it tracks accurately…

P14-Harvey-Peace-No-45-tracks-well

to leave a relatively neat finish in the backside.

P15-Harvey-Peace-No-45-Edge in birdseye maple P16-Harvey-Peace-No-45-Edge in mahogany

Overall, I’m impressed enough to recommend adding Harvey Peace saws to your till. The excellent steel, handle and fit and finish make this No. 45 a keeper. And so are the clean rip cuts I’m getting in walnut, maple and cherry.

© 2014, Brad Chittim, all rights reserved.

About The Write Biz

By day, I'm a mild-mannered copywriter who harnesses frontal-lobe creativity (right brain) to help B2B marketers generate leads and sales. By night I pick up hand tools to create wooden masterpieces...and give my black lab Bella the "red dot" laser to chase after.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to New Life for a Harvey Peace No 45 Panel Saw

  1. Valerie Gee says:

    Fancy! Maybe you’ll find another treasure during your escapades today….. Enjoy, and good luck!

  2. code4pay says:

    Nice , 8+ tpi rip saws are good for cutting plynwood with little tear out. Bit hard on the saw but since you can sharpen them yourself doesn’t really matter.

  3. Nice job on the rehab. I like Harvey Peace saws too!

Leave a Reply

