Rusthunting and snowstorms and wood-oh my


The garage sale season has started anew and I have a few nice finds to show for it. Saturday’s first stop was an estate sale advertising woodworking tools. But only a vegetarian cookbook for a buck was worth bringing home.

Still bleary-eyed from getting up at 6:30 on a weekend, I activated Plan B. That meant driving 40 minutes to an out-of-the-way locale to pick over “the estate of a woodworker.” Apparently, this was the second weekend of the sale. “You should have been here a week ago because the power tools are all gone,” said the gray-bearded man running the sale. I could use a bandsaw, but there’s no hurry. When the fates are ready to provide, one will appear.

The handtool pickings were slim too, but I did find this 19th century Harvey Peace saw buried beneath a gaggle of late-model saws.

Image

The real treasure however, and what motivated me to drive into a blowing snowstorm, was the wood. Out of an amazing variety of timber, I culled out 36 board feet of walnut, pecan, birdseye maple, oak, cherry, willow and what looks like butternut.

ImageImageImageImage

Even ended picking up some walnut burl and maple burl veneer.

Image

That will come in handy for the chessboard on my project list.

I paid $55 for the lot—saw, lumber and veneer. It works out to about $1.55/bf. Or about 18% of what I calculated would be retail.

With my wood stores replenished, I’ve already started to use it. Among the boards was this really nice cut-off piece of crotch walnut.

Image

It is now this mitersaw handle. That kind of grain makes o-dark-thirty Saturday mornings worth the effort.

© 2014, Brad Chittim, all rights reserved.

###

About The Write Biz

By day, I'm a mild-mannered copywriter who harnesses frontal-lobe creativity (right brain) to help B2B marketers generate leads and sales. By night I pick up hand tools to create wooden masterpieces...and give my black lab Bella the "red dot" laser to chase after.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rusthunting and snowstorms and wood-oh my

  1. I have yet to find an estate sale, let alone one with woodworking mentioned in my neck of the world. That is a nice pile of wood in the back of your car.

Leave a Reply

