Flea Market Tool Finds-Something I’ve never seen-13-01-27


Here are the latest cool items I picked up at my favorite flea-market booth dedicated exclusively to vintage tools.

First, a Bit Brace Extension, a Millers Falls No. 35. It’s in fantastic shape. I didn’t even know these existed until I picked it up. Anyone know what types of jobs they were used for in days gone by?

Image

And some closeups.

Image

Forstner bits being highly expensive as they are, I’ve taken to picking them up at estate sales and flea markets. Got a really nice 2″ one (for my drill press) at an estate sale. And this 5/8″ brace bit at the same flea market.

Image
Image
I followed a fellow woodworker’s advice on how to sharpen auger bits and now this puppy cuts a really nice hole.

Image

About The Write Biz

By day, I'm a mild-mannered copywriter who harnesses frontal-lobe creativity (right brain) to help B2B marketers generate leads and sales. By night I pick up hand tools to create wooden masterpieces...and give my black lab Bella the "red dot" laser to chase after.
This entry was posted in Tools, vintage tools and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Flea Market Tool Finds-Something I’ve never seen-13-01-27

  1. Roy says:

    I believe the brace bit extensions were used by electricians for running wires

Leave a Reply

