Rehabbing a SB #5C-Putting a decade’s old tool back to work.


Here’s a SB #5C I picked up at an estate sale. I actually had a frown on my face when I first spied it because I had just finished looking at some overpriced saws in very sorry condition. The eight dollar price tag changed that and I was absolutely beaming when I discovered the three patent dates behind the frog making it a Type 11—the very type I collect.

When I first got into rehabbing vintage planes, I sanded the hell out of them. Did my best to make the sides square to the bottom and everything gleam. Years later I do the minimum necessary to make it a good user while pleasing to the eye.

Before:

Note the rust, rust everywhere. Since it wasn’t a nice grey patina, I sanded off the rust. The left side of the plane has a few deep scratches and they’re not exactly square to the bottom. Don’t care. I already have a Veritas LA jack dedicated to shooting duties.

Here are the beauty shots.

About The Write Biz

By day, I'm a mild-mannered copywriter who harnesses frontal-lobe creativity (right brain) to help B2B marketers generate leads and sales. By night I pick up hand tools to create wooden masterpieces...and give my black lab Bella the "red dot" laser to chase after.
This entry was posted in Hand planes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

