Pasta Drying Rack for my Lady–and my tummy.


Last September, I took a business trip to Seattle. My lady and I decided to combine it with some pleasure travel to visit her niece in Portland, Oregon. If you’ve never been there, it’s a wine-lover’s and foodie paradise. Even the street carts deliver fine-dining cuisine.

One day we went shopping and stepped into a little cooking/kitchenware shop. And it’s there where Gail saw something that looked like this.

 

“A pasta drying rack would make a nice gift,” she said with a smile, Christmas nearing as it was. I determined to make one. But the above design left me cold. Not much to it. So I peeked on the Internet and found one that suited me.

 

The dimensions were about right but the uninspired, blockish design wasn’t that appealing. I eventually went with 16″ w x 12″ deep x 13″ h. I laminated 1″ x 2″ pine stock to get the required thickness of the pieces. As for design details, I rounded over edges to the legs, giving them a Sphinx-paw look. And I used oak dowels for the drying rack extensions. These I finished with a food-safe butcher’s block elixir while everything else got a couple of coats of polyurethane finish.

I drilled stopped holes to accept the vertical dowel supports in the top and very bottom. I drilled a hole completely through the bottom cross-brace—which allows the vertical dowels to pass through into the bottom brace’s stopped hole.

Here’s what Gail opened Christmas morning:

Note the uneven dowels.

My hand drilling skills definitely need some honing.

And Gail needs to schedule some time in the kitchen to make some of her yummy pasta. I’ll even bring the wine honey :)

About The Write Biz

By day, I'm a mild-mannered copywriter who harnesses frontal-lobe creativity (right brain) to help B2B marketers generate leads and sales. By night I pick up hand tools to create wooden masterpieces...and give my black lab Bella the "red dot" laser to chase after.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pasta Drying Rack for my Lady–and my tummy.

  1. I like what you’ve done with the feet.

    But, did you mean Phoenix or Sphinx? :-)

  2. Jim B says:

    Progressive dowel angles make for more even drying of the pasta. Found only in the highest end racks.

Leave a Reply

